Cayuga County NY Homepage

Mandated Services

State-Mandated Services

The Probation Department provides a multitude of state-mandated services. Pursuant to the New York State Executive Law, Article 12-A, Section 256, each County shall maintain a probation agency to perform probation services therein, including:

  • Conciliation
  • Intake
  • Investigation
  • Pre-sentence & pre-disposition reports
  • Social treatment
  • Supervision
  • Other substitute functions as are assigned to probation agencies pursuant to law


The functions of intake, investigation, and supervision are performed under the oversight of the New York State Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives. Probation Officers and other staff work from the main office located on the third floor of the annex of the Cayuga County Courthouse and conduct extensive field work throughout Cayuga County and the City of Auburn.

Satellite Reporting Stations

There are also 4 satellite reporting stations located in strategic parts of the County to give the opportunity to individuals sentenced to probation who lack transportation to meet their reporting requirements. These offices have been established in Moravia Village Court, Genoa Town Court, Sterling Town Court, and Brutus Town Court.


All Probation Officers are trained to provide all mandated services to the Courts. Probation Officers are Peace Officers pursuant to New York State Law. 

Department Overview

The Probation Department consists of:

  • Probation Director
  • 2 Probation Supervisors
  • 3 Senior Probation Officers
  • 6 Probation Officers
  • 4 Clerical Staff
  1. Cayuga County NY Homepage

Contact Us

Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow