Cayuga County NY Homepage
What is Hazard Mitigation?

Hazard Mitigation is any action taken to reduce the loss of life and property by lessening the impact of disasters (natural, technological and man-made) according to FEMA. It is often considered the first of the four phases of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.

Mitigation measures fall into the following six general categories, and address both public and private property:

  • Emergency Services: Measures such as:
    • Communication systems
    • Emergency response
    • Hazard threat recognition
    • Hazard warning systems
    • Health and safety maintenance
    • Protection of critical facilities
  • Natural Resource Protection: Measures such as erosion and sediment control, stream corridor protection, vegetative management, and wetlands preservation
  • Prevention: Measures such as:
    • Building codes
    • Development regulations
    • Fire fuel reduction
    • Open space preservation
    • Planning and zoning
    • Sediment control
    • Soil erosion
    • Storm water management
  • Property Protection: Measures such as:
    • Acquisition
    • Barriers
    • Flood-proofing
    • Insurance
    • Rebuilding
    • Relocation
    • Storm shutters
    • Structural retrofits for high winds and earthquake hazards
  • Public Education and Awareness: Measures such as outreach projects, real estate disclosure, hazard information centers, technical assistance, and school age and adult education programs
  • Structural Projects: Measures such as:
    • Bulkheads
    • Buttresses
    • Channel modifications
    • Dams
    • Debris basins
    • Elevated roadways (seismic protection)
    • High flow diversions
    • Levees
    • Retaining walls
    • Retrofitted buildings
    • Revetments
    • Seawalls
    • Spillways
    • Storm sewers

Show All Answers

1. What is Hazard Mitigation?
  1. Cayuga County NY Homepage

Contact Us

Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow