Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

What is the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) 

In 1986 Congress passed the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act, of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act - SARA Title III.  This act entitled the State to develop the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC), which entitled local communities to form Local Emergency Planning Committee’s. 

The LEPC was charged under the law to develop and maintain a Hazardous Materials Response Plan and monitor hazardous materials storage under Tier II reporting requirements for Cayuga County. 

The Cayuga County LEPC was formed in 1993 and has remained active in hazardous materials planning, hazard analysis, and awareness of local hazardous materials storage through Tier II reports. 

After the 9/11 terrorist attacks, the LEPC took on an “all hazards” approach to planning, and is an integral part of the development and maintenance of the Cayuga County Comprehensive Emergency Response Plan (CEMP).

Who makes up the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

The Cayuga County LEPC is made up of volunteers that represent a cross section of our community.  Included are Local Elected Officials,  Emergency Management Officials, Health & Human Services Officials, Hospital, Nursing Facility, Home Health, and Emergency Medical Services representatives, Law Enforcement Officials,  Fire Officials, Planning Officials, Educational System Officials, Public Service & Utility Companies, Industry Representatives, Highway & Transportation Department Officials, Volunteer Organizations Active in Disaster, and Citizens at Large.

These community representatives work hand-in-hand with the County Emergency Management Office to plan and prepare for natural and man made emergencies and disasters in Cayuga County.  Being part of the LEPC offers the opportunity to become intimately involved in the process that is Emergency Management.  To become part of the Local Emergency Planning Committee please contact the LEPC at

LEPC Officers

President -         Niel S. Rivenburgh, Cayuga County Office of Emergency Services

Vice President - Andrea Simmons

Secretary -         Michelle Wunderlich, Cayuga County Planning