Civil Service Commission

Civil Service Banner

  • Banner

Civil Service Commission

Cayuga County Civil Service Commission    Human Resources Administrator
          Peter R. Stephenson, Commission Chairperson             Michael T. Russell
          Ronald J. Oughterson, Commissioner          Deputy Human Resources Administrator
          Bruce D. Sherman, Commissioner             Laura L. Granger


The Cayuga County Civil Service Commission administers personnel transactions for 35 County Departments, 23 Towns, 9 Villages, 5 Special Districts: Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES, Cayuga Community College, Cayuga County Soil & Water District, Seymour Library District, Cayuga County Water & Sewer District, and 6 County School Districts: Cato-Meridian, Moravia, Port Byron, Southern Cayuga, Union Springs, and Weedsport.

  • The Commission administers Civil Service examinations to interested candidates for county jobs.
  • The Commission certifies payrolls twice a year for these county departments and municipalities.
  • The Commission issues and posts Civil Service examination announcements to the public.
  • The Commission holds Civil Service meetings once a month, open to the public.


Click link below to view NYS website:
New York State Civil Service Web site